Rugby World Cup 2023: All the team news for the semi-finals

Thu, Oct 19, 2023, 10:54 AM
Nathan Williamson
by Nathan Williamson
All the team news for the World Cup semi-finals. Photo: Getty Images
All the team news for the World Cup semi-finals. Photo: Getty Images

Rugby World Cup 2023 is down to just four teams as they battle it out for the Webb Ellis Cup.

The first semi-final will see the All Blacks take on Argentina at the Stade de France on October 21 (AEDT).

Watch every game of the Rugby World Cup LIVE on Stan Sport. Start watching Stan Sport now.

Both teams faced off in July, with the Kiwis coming away with the 41-12 victory.

The other semi-final will involve South Africa and England in a rematch of the 2019 World Cup Final.

South Africa survived a titanic clash with France whilst the English hung on to defeat Fiji in Marseille

Check out all the details for every Rugby World Cup team for the semi-finals as they drop

Saturday, October 21: Argentina v New Zealand, Stade de France, Paris (6:00 AM)

Argentina coach Michael Cheika has confirmed a settled line-up for their semi-final against New Zealand.

The only change comes at scrumhalf, with Gonzalo Bertranou replacing Tomas Cubelli.

Cubelli was a shock starter against Wales in the quarter-final, with Cheika opting for Lautaro Bazan Velez on the bench.

Hooker Julian Montoya will once again captain the side as they look to make their first World Cup Final.

Meanwhile, New Zealand coach Ian Foster has made two personnel changes and one positional switch.

Mark Telea returns to the wing for Leicester Fainaga'nuku, missing the win over Ireland due to breaking team protocol.

Samisoni Taukei’aho comes onto the bench for Dane Coles, whilst Sam Whitelock swaps with Brodie Retallick in the second-row.

Argentina (15-1): Juan Cruz Mallia; Emiliano Boffelli, Lucio Cinti, Santiago Chocobares, Mateo Carreras; Santiago Carreras, Gonzalo Bertranou; Facundo Isa, Marcos Kremer, Juan Martin Gonzalez; Tomas Lavanini, Guido Petti; Francisco Gomez Kodela, Julian Montoya (capt), Thomas Gallo

Replacements: Agustin Creevy, Joel Sclavi, Eduardo Bello, Matias Alemanno, Rodrigo Bruni, Lautaro Bazan Velez, Nicolas Sanchez, Matias Moroni

New Zealand (15-1): Beauden Barrett; Will Jordan, Rieko Ioane, Jordie Barrett, Mark Telea; Richie Mo'unga, Aaron Smith; Ardie Savea, Sam Cane (capt), Shannon Frizell; Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock; Tyrel Lomax, Codie Taylor, Ethan de Groot

Replacements: Samisoni Taukei’aho, Tamaiti Williams, Fletcher Newell, Brodie Retallick, Dalton Papali’i, Finlay Christie, Damian McKenzie, Anton Lienert-Brown

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)

Assistant Referee 1: Nic Berry (Australia)

Assistant Referee 2: Karl Dickson (England)

TMO: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)

Sunday, October 22: England v South Africa Stade de France, Paris (6:00 AM)

England have recalled Joe Marler into the starting side for the semi-final against the Springboks.

Marler last started against Japan earlier in the tournament, with vice-captain Ellis Genge to come off the bench.

Freddie Steward returns to fullback, with Marcus Smith struggling after a nasty head knock against Fiji.

Leicester lock George Martin is the only other change to the starting side, set to partner Maro Itoje

As for South Africa, coach Jacques Nienaber has kept faith in the team that got the job done against France, naming an unchanged 23.

It is just the second time in 64 Tests and the first since 2019 that the Springboks will go into a match with an unchanged squad.

15 of the 23 named played against England in the 2019 Final, which South Africa took out 23-12

England (15-1): Freddie Steward; Jonny May, Joe Marchant, Manu Tuilagi, Elliot Daly; Owen Farrell (capt), Alex Mitchell; Ben Earl, Tom Curry, Courtney Lawes; George Martin, Maro Itoje; Dan Cole, Jamie George, Joe Marler

Replacements: Theo Dan, Ellis Genge, Kyle Sinckler, Ollie Chessum, BillyVunipola, Danny Care, George Ford, Ollie Lawrence

South Africa (15-1): Damian Willemse; Kurt-Lee Arendse, Jesse Kriel, Damian De Allende, Cheslin Kolbe; Manie Libbok, Cobus Reinach; Duane Vermeulen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (capt); Franco Mostert, Eben Etzebeth; Frans Malherbe, Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff

Replacements: Deon Fourie, Ox Nche, Vincent Koch, RG Snyman, Kwagga Smith, Faf de Klerk, Handre Pollard, Willie le Roux

Referee: Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand)

Assistant Referee 1: Mathieu Raynal (France)

Assistant Referee 2: Paul Williams (New Zealand)

TMO: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)

Gold Coast & District Rugby Union (JRU)

Gold Coast & District Rugby Union (JRU)

© 2021 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network